Front Page
  Current Issue
  Back Issues
  About National CrossTalk

News Editorial Other Voices Interview

5 of 5 Stories

News From The Center

Virginia B. Smith Award

(Photo by Axel Koester for CrossTalk)
David S. Spence, president of the Southern Regional Education Board and former executive vice chancellor of the California State University system, has been awarded the Virginia B. Smith Innovative Leadership award for 2006.

As Cal State vice chancellor, Spence led the effort to develop a voluntary early assessment program (EAP) that enables high school juniors to identify weaknesses in their college preparation work in time to correct the deficiencies in their senior year.

"The EAP has made college readiness standards more concrete for schools, teachers and, most importantly, students," said Patrick M. Callan, president of the National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education. "Through his work with the program, David Spence has helped to connect these standards to the high school curriculum."

The National Center and the Council for Adult and Experiential Learning jointly administer the award, which is named for Virginia B. Smith, President Emerita of Vassar College and longtime supporter of innovation in higher education.

See News Release

More about the Virginia B. Smith Award

Measuring Up 2006 will be Released September 7

Preparation of the "Measuring Up" reports published by the National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education has been guided by a team of higher education policy experts, shown at a recent meeting of the advisory committee in San Jose, California.

(Photo by Rod Searcey for CrossTalk)
Back row (left to right): Sue Hodges Moore, vice president for planning, policy and budget, Northern Kentucky University; Peter T. Ewell, vice president, National Center for Higher Education Management Systems; Alan Wagner, professor and chair, Department of Educational Administration and Policy Studies, State University of New York at Albany; Richard D. Wagner, retired executive director, Illinois Board of Higher Education; Emerson J. Elliott, retired commissioner, National Center for Education Statistics; and Jane Wellman, senior associate, Institute for Higher Education Policy.

Front Row (left to right): Margaret A. Miller, director, Center for the Study of Higher Education, Curry School of Education, University of Virginia; Dennis P. Jones, president, National Center for Higher Education Management Systems; David W. Breneman, University Professor and Dean, Curry School of Education, University of Virginia; and Gordon K. Davies, director, National Collaborative for Postsecondary Education Policy.

Professor Wagner is a consultant on the project but not a member of the advisory committee. Another consultant, William P. Doyle, assistant professor at Vanderbilt University, was not present when the photograph was taken.

E-Mail this link to a friend.
Enter your friend's e-mail address:

National CrossTalk Summer 2006



National Center logo
© 2006 The National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education

HOME | about us | center news | reports & papers | national crosstalk | search | links | contact

site managed by NETView Communications